From 5th to 10th May, 2020, ITFS (The Stuttgart International Festival of Animated Film) was held as a special digital edition for the first time due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

A positive outcome
The digital edition of the festival welcomes the positive outcome. Around 105,000 views in ‘OnlineFestival Free’, its six days of live streams averaging 100 guests, and ‘OnlineFestival+’, the paid on demand programme of more than 250 current animated short and feature films. 4,000 votes were registered for the ‘SWR OnlineFilm Audience Award’. About 25% of the tickets for OnlineFestival Pro’, the section for professionals, are from abroad.

Closing of the festival
The official awards ceremony streamed live on the festival website ‘’ and the winners of the various competitions have been presented and honored in the live stream. The winners sent video messages to the audience and showed clips from their films. In addition, the audience was given the opportunity to view some full-length films in competition selected in the awards ceremony.

The award winners are invited to attend the opening ceremony of the 28th ITFS on 4th May, 2021 and receive their golden Trickstars in person. All entries to the competitions of ITFS 2020 will be shown on the big cinema screen at ITFS 2021.

Award Winners

International Competition
[Grand Prix: State of Baden-Württemberg and City of Stuttgart Grand Award for Animated Film] (15,000 EUR)
Acid Rain (Poland 2019)
Director: Tomek Popakul
Production: Animoon Studio (Piotr Szczepanowicz, Grzegorz Wacławek)

Lotte Reiniger Promotion Award for Animated Film
[Award for the best graduation film by a film student] (10,000 EUR)
Kujiranoyu (Bath House of Whales) (Japan 2019)
Director: Mizuki Kiyama
Production: Tokyo University of the Arts (Koji Yamamura)

Tricks For Kids
[Award for the best children’s animated film] (4,000 EUR)
La vie de château (My Life in Versailles) (France 2019)
Director: Nathaniel H’limi, Clémence Madeleine-Perdrillat
Production: Sacrebleu Productions (Lionel Massol, Pauline Seigland)
[Special Mention]
Coeur Fondant (Melting Heart Cake) (France 2019)
Director: Benoit Chieux
Production: Sacrebleu Productions (Ron Dyens)

Young Animation
[Award for the best student film] (2,500 EUR)
Dcera (Daughter) (Czech Republic 2019)
Director: Daria Kashcheeva
Production: FAMU – Film and TV School of Academy of Performing Arts in Prague (Ondřej šejnoha, Zuzana Roháčová, Martin Vandas)
[Special Mention]
Gravedad (Germany 2019)
Director: Matisse Gonzalez
Production: Filmakademie Baden-Württemberg – Animationsinstitut (Toufik Abdebaim,Matisse Gonzalez)
[SWR OnlineFilm Audience Award] (6,000 EUR)
Uzi (Ties) (Germany, Russia 2019)
Director: Dina Velikovskaya
Producer: Florian Grolig

The FANtastic Award
[For the best animation talent] (1.000 EUR)
Fragmente (Fragments) (Germany 2020)
Director: Jonas Hurrle
Production: DHBW Duale Hochschule Baden-Württemberg
[Special Mention]
The Fox & The Pigeon (Canada 2019)
Director: Michelle Chua, Aileen Dewhurst, Sharon Gabriella, Viktor Ivanovski, Sang Lee, Tyler Pacana, SiKyung Kevin Sung, Morgan Thompson, Chelsea van Tol, Matt Walton, Steven Wang
Production: Sheridan College

TrickStar Nature Award
[Award for an international animated short film production that deal with topics of climate protection, biodiversity, environment and sustainability in an informative, entertaining but also humorous way] (7,500 EUR)
Au pays de l’aurore boréale (Northern Lights) (France, Switzerland 2019)
Director: Caroline Attia
Production: Folimage (Reginald de Guillebon)
[Special Mention]
Terre de vers (Worms of Earth) (France 2019)
Director: Helene Ducrocq
Production: Citron Bien, Pierre Dron

[Award for the best animated feature-length film]
Le voyage du prince (The prince’s voyage) (France 2019)
Director: Jean-François Laguionie, Xavier Picard
Production: Blue Spirit Productions, MÉLUSINE PRODUCTIONS (Eric Jacquot, Armelle Glorennec, Stéphan Roelants)
[Special Mention]
L’Extraordinaire Voyage de Marona (Marona’s Fantastic Tale) (Romania, France, Belgium 2019)
Director: Anca Damian
Production: Sacrebleu Productions, Marmitafilms, Aparte Film, Minds Meet (Anca Damian, Ron Dyens, Tomas Leyers)

[Award for a German screenplay with the greatest international market potential] (1.500 EUR)
Der letzte Sänger der Wale (The Last Whale Singer)
Author: Reza Memari
Producer: Maite Woköck
Production: Telescope Animation GmbH
[German Animation Screenplay Award] (2,500 EUR)
Stichkopf (Stitch Head)
Author: Steve Hudson
Producer: Sonja Ewers
Co-production: Fabrique d’images
Studios: Lavalabs, Studio Rakete, Pixomondo
Production: Gringo Films GmbH
[Special Mention}
Lukas und das Paradoxi
Author: Henning Ricke
Producer: Martin Borowski
Production: Lumatik Film GmbH

Trickstar Business Award
[The prize recognizes innovative business models in the animation industry] (7,500 EUR)
For the first time, the Trickstar Business Award will be split this year, with half going to a project and half to a company.
Good enough: Burnout Diary (The Netherlands)
Filmmaker: Dario van Vree
Producer: Tünde Vollenbroek (Studio Pupil)
E.D. Films
Owner: Archita Ghosh, Daniel Gies, Emily Paige, Canada

Animated  Games Award Germany
[Award for an animation-based computer game from Germany with the best visual design and aesthetics] (4,000 EUR)
Song of Bloom (Germany 2019)
Developer: Philipp Stollenmayer, kamibox e.K.

error: Content is protected !!

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

This site uses cookies to ensure that we give you the best possible experience. By continuing to use the website, you consent to the receiving, storage and accessing of all cookies. To find out more, please visit our Cookie Policy, which is accessible here.